RSS

Big Brother is watching YOU!

15 Aug

Here, young ppl can get discount cards from the Scottish government called Young Scot cards, valid from age 12 to 26. The point of the cards is to make life easier for young people, as they have little money; some shops give you a small discount if you show it when you pay. I always thought that it was nice and thoughtful of the Scottish Government to do this. I had one and lost it years ago. Beccause student cards gave better discounts, I never had it replaced. Today I went to a library that isn’t near me and my library card had run out there, so I had to apply for a new one. I was asked if I have a Young Scot card, I said no and instead offered my passport and bank statement as ID.

Then the guy started working on my application and told me to wander about for a few minutes. A couple minutes later, he called me back, looking very confused, and asked me why I’d said no, and pointed to the screen – where a huge photo of my lost Young Scot card was on the screen!! A card I’d lost 3 years ago, complete with a photo of me taken 6 years ago.

I said I’d lost it, he said he’d have it reissued and sent to me. I said okay, cos since I’m already on their system, I might as well cash in on the benefits.

The public library isn’t even a government agency and they have my card on their system?! Obviously the main purpose of Young Scot cards are not to give you discounts, but to function as ID cards/so the government can keep track of its citizens…the discount is to lure you to apply for one!

I’m not saying that Young Scot cards exist for some nefarious purpose or that their exitence will lead directly to the construction of the Paradise machine*. They probably exist for perfectly reasonable reasons such as to combat terrorism, crime and illegal immigrants.

I should mention, however, that to apply for a library card now (the new ones) you have to have your photo taken for the card…AND consent to all the information you enter on the form being shared with “other government agencies and departments”. The information you have to enter includes your phone, email, address, name, D.O.B. and occupation. So if you get a new library card, the Government will know your phone number and address. If you don’t consent, then you don’t get a library card.

When did we get to vote on this again?…

*A fictional spanking torture machine used by the Government on student activists and others. See ‘The UK Government Torture Act’: https://diaryofavirginwhore.wordpress.com/category/spanking-and-bdsm-fiction/the-uk-government-torture-act/

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
